Yummy Food

Today and yesterday were filled with yummy, free, plant-based food.  Yesterday we all attended a staff luncheon put on by the founders of Boston Baked Bonz.  It was amazing.

Corn and black bean enchiladas, Israeli couscous salad, sweet potatoes, pickles and pickled onions, and kale with peanut butter dressing.

And best of all, dessert included several kinds of vegan cupcakes from Sticky Fingers Bakery.  O.M.G.  So good. If I was served these all of the time, I’d be a thousand pounds. Flavors included Class Vanilla, Strawberry Crème, Peanut Butter Fudge, and Coconut Delight.  I decided to go with the Strawberry…

… and then another intern gave me half of her Vanilla.  Yum!  And all of this was vegan, of course.

Lucky for us interns, we got to eat some of the leftovers again today.  Every Wednesday, we have an Educational Lunch with all of the interns and a guest speaker.  Today it was Registered Dietitian George Eisman.  You can read more about him on this page.  As soon as he started talking, I perked up — I love talks about plant-based nutrition.  I also loved that I already knew most of what he was talking about, especially referencing T. Colin Campbell’s discovery of the casein, the protein in milk, to be a potent, cancer-causing agent in our bodies.  It was a great talk, and once again made me consider continuing my education in the nutrition field.  We’ll see.

Side note: If you haven’t read The China Study by Dr. Campbell, go buy it NOW.  It will change your life.

Anyway… things have seemed pretty slow, lately.  It’s weird that I’ve only been here a week.  I’m beginning to miss home lately, which I expected.  I think what contributes most to the homesickness is wanting to be able to come home after a long day at work and see Lilly and John, and tell them about my day, etc. but I’m trying my best to take it a day at a time and enjoy all the time I’m here.  This is such a unique, once-in-a-lifetime experience.

And I do really enjoy the work I’ve been doing.  Love the people I’ve been working with.  It’s taking some adjustment to actually working a full 9-5 work week, but I’m really thankful for this experience.  I’m learning to work “real world” hours and also getting to contribute to an organization I really care about.  And my work is fun!  I was so nervous until  I realized the projects I’ll be working on are exactly the types of projects I do every semester in my technical communication classes!  Exciting!  I love editing.

But anyway, I’m off to bed soon because I have to come in early tomorrow.  Just two more days and the weekend’s here again!

2 thoughts on “Yummy Food

  1. I am loving your blog Lauren. Yes, dang ol’ homesickness will rear its head. It’s great you understand and expect it. Love you and can’t wait to read about what happens next on this “unexpected” road 🙂 You are full of awesome!
    I will now go download The China Study to my Kindle.

    • Aww, thank you Adelle!! I love knowing you guys are reading 🙂 I’m so excited you’re downloading The China Study. Can’t wait to hear what you think. It’s so informative — changed my life!

Leave a comment